Sugar Free Frozen Berries, Fresh Apple and Chia Chunky Sauce

I noticed the new trend in my recipe development. I start to make one dish and finish with completely different one. It happened several times now, so it’s a trend. Fortunately for me, the dishes I ended up with, were so far good ones. The same occurred with this recipe. This chunky sauce from mixed frozen berries and fresh apples is made using very little honey and chia seeds. I served it on top of flourless apple pure/sauce pancakes.

eMixedBerriesSou-7

I started to make my regular frozen berries and chia jam, and simply used a different berries mix. When I tasted this jam, it was too sweet. I decided to add apples. But even with 2 apples added, the jam still was too sweet, and I had to add more berries to make it right. The final quantities I used were 1 full bag of mixed berries (included blueberries, blackberries, raspberries), half a bag of frozen raspberries and 2 large Granny Smith apples. The texture looked so nice, that I decided not to use stick blender and left the sauce (not jam anymore) chunky. I made flourless pancakes to go with this sauce. I used commercial apple pure, but mashed banana can be used instead.

eMixedBerriesSou-2

Ingredients:

frozen berries, apple and chia sauce

  • 500g bag of mixed frozen berries
  • 250g of frozen raspberries
  • 2 Granny Smith apples, cored, peeled and diced (250-300g)
  • 250g organic honey
  • 3 full table spoons of white chia seeds
  • 150g water
  • 2 table spoons fresh lemon juice (optional)

apple puree flourless  pancakes

  • 2 table spoons apple puree
  • 1 egg
  • 2 table spoons flaxseed meal
  • 2 table spoons almond meal
  • pinch of salt

Preparation:

frozen berries, apple and chia sauce

  • place frozen berries in a sauce pan
  • add water and honey
  • heat to a boiling point
  • add apples
  • cook on medium heat 15min or until apples become soft
  • add chia seeds and cook for another 7-8min on low heat
  • check the taste and thickness of the sauce, and adjust them by adding lemon juice, honey or chia seeds if needed
  • spoon hot sauce into glass jars, cover with a lid
  • keep refrigerated

eMixedBerriesSou-7

The mix of berries, their sweetness and juiciness can vary, and that can cause the necessity to either use lemon juice to make the flavour more intense, or to add honey, to make the sauce sweeter. The texture of the sauce can be adjusted by adding extra chia seeds to make extra thick sauce, or to leave it quite runny. This sauce can be used to serve with many deserts, but can be also very useful in baking.

I am definitely not an expert in flourless sweet pancakes. I made these just to have pancakes from the list of the ingredients, allowed for this blog. I often use commercial apple puree or apple sauce as a base for small pancakes or galettes I made for myself with quinoa flour. In the above recipe, I used almond meal instead of quinoa flour. One of the distinctive features of pancakes made with apple sauce is their demand for a very careful frying on a very low heat. I fried my pancakes using coconut oil on very low heat until the whole pancake becomes solid, only then I turned it over to fry the other side. You can use mashed bananas instead, or any other pancake recipe you favour.

eMixedBerriesSou-4

The sauce has enough sweetness, but the main impression it gives is that of freshness and berries, with added softness of apple chunks. I truly enjoyed my breakfast and have to admit that it is easy to finish the small jar of this sauce without a meal to go with it.

Leave a Reply

