Homemade Mustard

It is unfortunate that simple everyday products, such as mustard, with a simple list of natural ingredients, can be out of reach for people when they can’t tolerate any sulphate components as preservatives. It would never crossed my mind to make my own mustard, if not for the post in another blog with many interesting and inspiring recipes. The simplicity of the recipe was so obvious, that I made my first mustard immediately after reading the post. I had to add honey and alter the quantity of sea salt, to get the taste I liked, but in essence only mustard seeds, apple cider vinegar, salt and in my case honey, is all you need to make a valuable everyday condiment for the safe use. Gluten can also be a hidden issue for some commercial mustards. Some manufactures use mustard powder to make mustard, and this powder can be cross-contaminated with gluten during manufacturing process. I liked my own mustard  and make it regularly now.

emst-7

When I made mustard for the first time, it had a very sharp and acidic taste, too powerful to be used even in small quantities. It was probably the result of the different potency of mustard seeds and acidity of the vinegar. To balance the taste, I used more salt and added raw organic honey to achieve the intensity of the mustard I wanted. I also did not add turmeric to intensify the colour, but used barberries instead. I am not sure that they did the job, but because I liked the taste, I left them in my recipe and add barberries to the mix.

Ingredients:

  • 75g mustard seeds
  • 80ml water
  • 80ml organic apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tea spoon dry barberries (optional)
  • 15g sea salt
  • 40-50g honey
  • extra water, if mustard is too thick

Preparation:

  • wash mustard seeds under running water if concerned about possible contamination with gluten or any flour
  • place mustard seeds in glass container/bowl/jar
  • cover mustard seeds with vinegar and water
  • add barberries

eMustard100-2

  • cover the bowl with a cling wrap and let mustard seeds absorb liquid for 12-24 hours (time depends on the temperature of the environment)

eMustard100-3

  • use stick blender to puree the mix
  • add salt and honey in portions (do not add all quantities mentioned in the recipe at once)
  • taste mustard and add more salt or honey, if necessary to adjust the taste
  • add extra water by tea spoon if the texture seems to be too thick

eMustard100-5

  • achieve the desired texture (fine or coarse)
  • store mustard refrigerated

All ingredients of the recipe can vary in their taste – mustard seeds in their potency, vinegar in the percentage of the acidity, honey in sweetness. Each type of salt tastes different, too. My advice is to add salt and honey (if used at all) gradually, checking the taste and making adjustments if necessary.

eMustard100-9

This mustard goes well with everything. I am yet to try it in cooking to make mustard chicken in coconut sauce, the variation of Dijon mustard chicken in sour cream sauce, to make the recipe dairy free.

dijonchicken-10

 

Leave a Reply

