Tahini and honey biscuits – gluten, dairy, egg and sugar free

I had to take my biscuit recipes to another level and make them egg free. I also wanted to get an interesting and quite complex taste. That is why I opted to use tahini paste as one of the ingredients, but to balance its bitter taste with pure apple puree and a lot of honey. I want to mention, that the honey I used, started to harden and had plenty of sugar crystals. If using liquid honey the quantity of buckwheat flour might be necessary to increase.

These biscuits can be baked in two variations from the same dough. They can be completely dry, hard and crunchy or with a dry and hard crust and a chewy middle. It depends only on the duration of baking or the thickness of the dough.

Ingredients list is short and simple, the process of dough preparation is the easiest I have so far.

Ingredients:

enough for three trays 30cm x 30cm

  • 100g hulled tahini paste
  • 100g pure apple puree
  • 220-230g honey (mine started to crystallise and was quite thick)
  • 150g buckwheat flour (I used Bio-Oz)
  • 30g ground golden flax seed
  • 1g sea salt

Preparation:

  • mix all wet ingredients
  • mix buckwheat flour and ground flax in a separate bowl
  • all wet to dry ingredients
  • mix them well
  • add salt
  • work with spatula to incorporate all ingredients together
  • the dough will be slowly thickening
  • the dough is soft, sticky, but easy to work with wet palms
  • I prefer to pipe it out, though it was not an easy task
  • if using pastry bag do not let the dough rest for a long time, it becomes more dense, but easier to work with wet hands
  • make small balls out of the dough or pipe them out
  • use baking paper to line the tray, or even better use silicone lining, you will get perfectly shaped biscuits
  • smooth the top of the dough with wet fingers (if piping)
  • cover the tray with thin plastic bag, I used cut open freezer bag dipped in water
  • as my baking trays have elevated 2-3 mm borders, I roll the rolling pin over pieces of dough to make them even thickness
  • I applied flat bottom glass or cup to spread the dough even thinner
  • gently peel of plastic bag
  • bake in preheated to 150C fan forced oven for 20 minutes for a single tray, or 22-24 minutes for multiple trays
  • baking time and temperature can vary form 140C-150C and 22-26 minutes, depending on the thickness of the dough, the type of biscuits you want to get and of course your oven
  • leave baked biscuits on a tray for 5 minutes, then transfer them to a wire rack to cool down completely
  • these biscuits are simply irresistible

It is very hard to stop tasting them. Though I personally do not need that many dietary restrictions myself, I am sure these biscuits will be a regular feature in our dessert menu. I will bake them for Christmas presents, that is how good they are.

2 thoughts on “Tahini and honey biscuits – gluten, dairy, egg and sugar free

Leave a comment